Pancakes from Scratch!

When you eat gluten free, breakfast can be a bit of a challenge. As more and more people have chosen this way of eating, the selection of gluten free products on the market has totally increased. However, theses products are pretty pricey and often times the calorie count is less than to be desired. (Like 100 calories for one smallish piece of sandwich bread!).

Because of this, I find myself eating a lot of eggs, yogurt, cheese, Rice Chex etc. which is fine, but sometimes I just want something completely carb-filled and “normal” like pancakes!

There are some wonderful gluten free pancake mixes that can really satisfy the craving for this yummy breakfast classic.  Of course, when I really have a craving for something in particular, I’m missing an ingredient…..the pancake mix!

This just in: you can make super delicious pancakes and waffles without using Bisquick or some other boxed mix.

(I’m not trying to dis Bisquick…I love the stuff, especially for a crowd…actually, I will be using it for my little buddy’s “Pancakes and Pajamas” birthday party next weekend…I’ll have a post about that too!)

The recipe I’m using I’ve adapted from a cookbook my twin brother got me for Christmas years ago…I have since tweaked it a bit and memorized it to make it my own.

Ya wanna know the best part?

Say yes.

(Yes!)

You can use regular AP flour for the APGF flour mix I use and regular milk for the almond milk I use as well!

Why almond milk? I have been dairy free for the last four months since realizing my daughter is intolerant to the fairly large cow’s milk protien that passes into breastmilk.

Pancakes
Makes about 14

1 cup APGF flour (You can find out about the All Purpose Gluten Free flour mix I use here)
1 T of baking powder (or 3 tsps if your tablespoon has been taken captive by a two-year-old….yes, 1 T is equal to 3 tsps)
1/4 tsp salt
2 T sugar
2 T oil
3/4 cup almond milk
1 egg, whisked

  1. Turn your griddle to med-high heat and butter it up….or not. You could use cooking spray or nothing at all if your griddle is nonstick and you’re dairy free.
  2. Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl until the lumps are gone; don’t stress if there are a few lumps left.
  3. Using about 1/4 cup portions, pour the batter on the griddle.
  4. Flip when you see the pancakes bubbling and let the other side cook for a minute or so.

That’s it. Easy peasy pancakes from scratch. Top them with butter and syrup or whipped cream and strawberries….whatever tickles your fancy.

20140126-133748.jpg

I topped these pancakes with cinnamon and brown sugar fried apples…I’d post the recipe, but I’m not 100% pleased with it yet, so stay tuned! oh, and the picture is a bit blurry because my camera died and I had to use my phone. Woopsy!

In the mean time, go make these for breakfast….or make them for dinner if you’re a fan of “breakfast for dinner” like my crew!

Leave a Reply

