Slow-Cooked Chicken Drumsticks

The weather here has been abnormally cold, which is really quite ironic considering that it IS Winter…though, that really means nothing in this part of the country. Monday it was in the mid 50s and today the high is only supposed to be 24 degrees…burr!

On this particular day, none of my speech therapy patients wanted to come in due to the four whole inches of snow on the ground, so I had an extra day at home with my little kiddos.

The sight of snow immediately made my toes turn into ice cubes. So naturally when I am cold I want to eat something warm and cozy to take the chill off..or at least stick my toes in something warm and cozy.

When you are a mom, whether you work or not, a slower cooker can be your best friend. Since we were in and out of the house playing in the snow, I plugged in my slow cooker and anticipated the yummy smells that would soon follow.

I went out into the garage refrigerator where we keep most of our bulk items and opened the freezer. There were two things: a bag of chopped broccoli that looked freezer burned and a pack of chicken drumsticks. The choices were endless.

I really needed to go to the grocery store, but there was no way I was taking my baby and my little buddy out shopping, by myself, in this “blizzard.” Chicken drumsticks it was!

Most people think of drumsticks as that deliciously greasy piece of deep fried chicken at the bottom of the bucket that you and your siblings fought over as kids. But drumsticks are so much more than that!

In this particular case, they were getting slow cooked until they fell off the bone. Yum! The recipe I used has an Asian flare, and the ingredients can be adjusted according to your particular taste. If you like more spice, add more Sriracha, if you like more sweetness, add more brown sugar, if it’s too tangy, reduce the amount of balsamic vinegar…you get the idea.

Slow-Cooked Chicken Drumsticks

  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup light or dark brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 6 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tablespoons fresh grated ginger (or a Tablespoon of ground ginger)
  • 2 teaspoons Sriracha sauce
  • black pepper
  • 10 chicken drumsticks (not drumettes), skin removed and discarded
  • green onion
  1. If you haven’t done so already, skin the chicken and set them aside. Don’t be afraid, just grab a hold of the skin by the meatier part of the drumstick and pull towards the end. Sometimes I do this while holding a paper towel as I tend to get a better grip this way.
  2. Mix all of the other ingredients in the slower cooker. The recipe I followed instructed you to boil the ingredients first to make a thicker sauce, but I was trying to get this done before my daughter woke up from her morning nap, so I skipped this step.

  3. Add in the chicken and roll it around to coat.

  4. Set the temperature to low and cook for 4-5 hours, turning the chicken on occasion.

  5. Once done, your house should smell awesome and the chicken should be falling off the bone.

  6. At this point, you can dish it up over rice, add a veggie and voila. Or you can make it pretty by plating it on a serving dish and pouring the sauce over top.

  7. If you have cilantro or toasted sesame seeds to garnish, that would be awesome! All I had was some almost wilted green onion, so I sliced them up and sprinkled on top.

slow-cooked chicken drumsticks

That’s it! Well, almost…

…back to the rice.

rice cooker

I got this baby for a wedding gift almost seven years ago and it is still going strong. I have to say, not once since I’ve been married have I ever fiddled with cooking rice on the stove, which is a good thing, because I would totally burn it and that wouldn’t be fair to my husband, since he does the dishes. 🙂

By the way, I mean BTW, I mean hold up! Did you know that you can also use a rice cooker to cook brown rice AND quinoa?! It’s true, and it’s the same 1:2, grain to liquid cooking ratio and it’s done in 20 minutes…Now you know!

Now go put on some fuzzy socks and enjoy!

adapted from Farm Girl Gourmet

3 thoughts on “Slow-Cooked Chicken Drumsticks

    • Thanks! Quinoa is such a nice change from rice. Some people recommend rinsing the quinoa first to get rid of the bitterness. I’ve yet to do it, but I will use chicken stock instead of water to give it a bit more richness.

Leave a Reply

