We got the Beet!

Four months ago, I gave birth to my precious little daughter. When my water broke, I was so relieved that is wasn’t stained red…and no I’m not talking about blood. I’m talking about beet juice.

When I was pregnant, believe it or not, I craved beets. Weird but true.

I had never really liked the strangely potent root vegetable until I was pregnant.

Just to reiterate….yes, pregnancy cravings are real, and yes, I craved beets. No lie.

They still conjure up a memory of going to a buffet restaurant as a kid and seeing them on the salad bar…You could always find them next to the cottage cheese and sunflower seeds.

Once, while grocery shopping during my pregnancy, I stumbled upon the pickled variation and just couldn’t resist. I snatched them up and tossed them into my cart. As I drove home, all I could think about was their strange, assertive flavor. I was salivating…over beets.

When I got home, I immediately opened the jar and ate one…or five. I couldn’t resist their earthly crunch. That night at dinner, I put a few on mine and my husband’s salads. They were delish. His scowling face told it all. He wasn’t a fan.

Over the course of my pregnancy, I went through Three jars. I even bought fresh ones and roasted them in the oven with carrots. I used a variation of Barefoot Contessa recipe that you can find here.

Be careful though. They stain. I mean REALLY STAIN. Your hands, your clothes and the other foods you eat. That is why beet juice is often used as a natural food coloring. Oh, and the color does not breakdown well during digestion. So if you decide to consume a lot like me, don’t be suprised when you flush the toilet…..don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Yesterday I had to get a few things at the grocery store and stumbled upon them again. I couldn’t resist. I had to buy them.

20140128-194913.jpg

So I did.

When I got home, my husband was helping unload everything and of course I hear, “These things! Ugh, they taste like sour dirt!”

I smiled…knowing that I would be able to have the entire jar to myself. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “We got the Beet!

  1. I appreciate your open honesty. I feel like us beet-lovers are few & far between. I’ve loved beets since childhood when my grandma used to make her own concoction for sweet & sour beets.

    • They have such a unique flavor. They are definitely one of those foods that you ether love or loathe. Thanks for sharing….sometimes food is just so much more than a flavor….it’s a memory 🙂

Leave a Reply

