Best Banana Bread

I’m not a picky eater, but I am picky about recipes and banana bread is one of them.

Banana bread really should be more like a cake in texture, it should be extra moist and never be over baked. Ever. I mean NEVER EVER!

There should not be a large amount of flour in the recipe and there should definitely be more than one banana. One thing that I have noticed about banana bread recipes, including the one I use, is that they often call for oil instead of butter. Note: for the best results with any recipe, stick with the fat ingredient recommended (i.e. butter, oil, shortening etc.) You will find that for most cakes and cupcake recipes, except for some carrot cake recipes, butter is typically the fat component and really, there is no substitution. 🙂

There are lots of different banana bread recipes out there and I’m sure they are all good, but this one is the best one I’ve tried and I refuse to try another…so there!

Seriously, this recipe is really really good.

I’m a huge Food Network fan and on the show, “The Best Thing I Ever Ate” they featured this banana bread recipe from Flour Bakery in Boston. I’ve been making it now for years and have never looked back. Both my husband and son gobble it up in just a few days. As a matter of fact, if we have bananas in the house that look extra ripe, my husband always makes a point to say that they would be perfect for banana bread, and he’s right. Ripe bananas are the best way to go. They are extra sweet and mushy, which is great because you’ll have to mash them up to add them to the batter anyway. The only thing that I don’t add to this recipe is nuts. My husband is not a fan, so I leave them out. If I have walnuts or pecans in the house and am making a gluten free version, I would totally add them…..oh yeah, you can easily make a gluten free version using my go-to a GF AP flour mix or your favorite GF AP flour mix. I’d post a picture, but my bananas have all mysteriously disappeared, though a sneaky three-year-old might be the culprit!

Happy Peeling! May your house smell delicious and your tummy feel happy!

Banana Bread

1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup oil
3 1/2 bananas, very ripe, mashed
2 tablespoons sour cream
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2/3 cup walnuts, toasted and chopped (optional)

Directions
Set oven to 350 degrees F. Line the bottom of a loaf pan with parchment paper.

Sift together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Beat sugar and eggs with the whisk attachment of your mixer until light and fluffy, about 8-10 minutes. Drizzle in oil. Add mashed bananas, sour cream, and vanilla. Fold in dry ingredients and nuts if you are using them. Pour into a lined loaf pan and bake for about 45 minutes to 1 hour.

I used this same recipe for the mini banana bread cupcakes I made for my little buddy’s birthday party. I just baked them for 15 minutes. If you want to make banana bread muffins, I would probably bake for 17-21 minutes, depending on your oven.

Banana Bread

Do not open the oven door to peek…this is a big NO NO in baking unless otherwise instructed to check the internal temperature or rotate the pan…just turn on your oven light! 🙂

Adapted from Flour Bakery

One thought on “Best Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

