Diving in

If you are a beach lover like me, you have probably spent some time sitting right at the edge of the water, where the sand and the ocean meet. Often times, we will sit a few feet back so we can still feel the cool, wet sand between our toes, without the water rushing between them.

But what do we do when the tide rises?

We move farther back, but close enough to still be in that comfortable spot close to the water.

Eventually the tide rises more, usually at the end of the day, and we all pack up our things and leave.

Let’s be metaphorical for a minute.

What if that water represents something in our life, something challenging, something that we have to overcome or something God is calling us to do?

Would we back away but stay close enough to still see the problem?

Would we pack our things and leave, walking away completely?

Would we dive in?

I am convinced that there are people in this world that are blessed with the gift of words. There is no doubt that the songwriters from the Australian worship band, Hillsong United have this gift. Whether their intent with their lyrics are to write songs or to write prayers, I don’t know; but what I do know is that they are powerful, motivating, challenging and often make me see things, simple things, in a different way.

We all have waves in our lives; the everyday ups and downs; gut wrenching heartache or tears of joy. Some waves are little; we can ride them to shore. Some waves are big enough to need a safety vest.

Waves are never still.

If we choose to be optimistic, knowing that God is our ever present safety vest, we can see the waves, or trials, as things, good things, that can have a positive impact on our life if we just take that leap of faith and face them head-on, diving into the ocean.

Starting a new job.
Mending a relationship.
Stepping away from a bad situation.
Telling someone, “no.”
Telling someone, “yes.”
Making a life-changing decision.
Moving on.

After reading the lyrics to the song “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail),” I can’t help but picture myself on a warm summer day, sitting in the sand while the white foamy water rises and falls against my feet. Reflecting and recalling these words would make perfect sense:

“You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown, where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand”

“Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior”

Listen to the song below and read the lyrics as you listen. I hope you are encouraged by this beautiful prayer and God’s promise of grace and presence in our lives.

Song: Oceans (where feet may fail.)

Leave a Reply

