Ganowa (I mean Granola!)

Today my cup runneth over…in the form of a basket.  A basket filled with laundry.

My laundry runneth over.

I am trying to find peace with laundry, I really am.  It is never ending.  When you have a baby, a three-year-old and a husband who seems to change his clothes at least twice a day, the cycle never stops.  I don’t know about you other moms, but do you ever feel like when you are folding your family’s clothes, you have the fewest items in the pile? Strange. Maybe it’s because I wear the same thing everyday:  at work I wear scrubs and at home I wear workout-type pants/sweats, which is the most practical (or maybe the mere thought of wearing jeans or anything that doesn’t have an elastic waistband sends chills down my spine…Ha).

Anyway, since I have lots and lots of laundry to fold, I decided  to do the only logical thing: blog.

Since starting to blog, I have taken pictures of lots of different meals and recipes, I just have to get in the mood to write about them.  Well, today I’m in the mood….or just avoiding laundry.  Whatever the reason, I have a yummy recipe to share.

My favorite blogger EVER, The Pioneer Woman, has the most delicious recipes EVER.  From chili to cinnamon rolls, I have never tried a recipe of hers that I didn’t absolutely love.  When I have an urge to try a new recipe, I always check out her blog first to see if she has what I am looking for.  I would say, 9/10 times she does. On this particular occassion I was looking for a homemade granola recipe.  I had a bag of gluten free muesli and I wanted to make a gluten free version and regular version for my hubby and little buddy.  So I did.

Granola 2

The main ingredients are super simple: oats, nuts, rice cereal, sticky sweetener.  I read through her recipe first and checked her ingredient list with what was in my pantry.  I was short on a few items, but since I was salivating over making this granola, I tweaked a few items and and they turned out great.  Substitutions for the win!

  • Her recipe called for 6 cups of oats, I only had five, so I added an additional cup of rice cereal.
  • Her recipe called for pecans and almonds.  I had a huge container of mixed nuts, so I used that instead.
  • I was short the amount of honey the recipe called for, so I use the honey I had and substituted the rest with 100% maple syrup.
  • I don’t ever have wheat germ, which she uses, so I substituted it completely with flax seeds.

Granola 1

Note: This recipe is for a crunchy/hard granola bar, not a a chewy/bendy (is that a word?) granola bar.  Which works out really well for crumbling over Greek yogurt or if you want to give your molars a workout.


Granola Bars

  • 6 cups Rolled Oats (not Quick Oats)
  • 4 Tablespoons Butter, Melted
  • 1/4 cup Vegetable Or Canola Oil
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Honey
  • 1/4 cup Apple Juice
  • 1/4 cup Molasses (I used blackstrap)
  • 3 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • 1-1/2 cup Rice Krispies
  • 1 cup flax seeds
  • 3/4 cup coarsely chopped mixed nuts, salted or unsalted….whatever tickles your fancy

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a bowl, toss the oats with the canola oil, melted butter and salt. Spread the mixture out on 2 baking sheets and toast in the oven for 15 min, shaking or stirring the pan twice, making sure the oats don’t burn.  Use your judgement; ovens are not created equal.  If the oats have a questionable “burn” smell, get ’em outta there and set aside.

While the oats are toasting, in a large bowl combine the rice cereal, flax seeds and nuts, set aside.

In a saucepan, combine the sweet stuff: brown sugar, honey, apple juice and molasses (or whatever substitutions you may have).  Stir over medium heat until combined.  Add the vanilla and remove from heat.

Lower the temp 325 degrees F.

Once the oats are done, combine them with the rice cereal/nut mixture.  Then pour in the sugar mixture, stirring as you pour. Toss to combine.  It will be sticky, but not in the same way as Rice Krispie Treats.  You will think that you did something wrong because it doesn’t necessarilly form together…that’s what the baking is for.

Press evenly into the baking sheet and bake until golden, about 20-25 minutes, it will smell awesome! Remove from oven and let cool completely. (I was antsy and stuck mine in the fridge 🙂 )

You should be able to remove the entire granola with the foil still attached.  Peel the foil off and cut into desired bars, or break up to sprinkle over yogurt.

Store in an airtight container.

 To avoid my laundry, I really wish that I could make this recipe longer, but it really is that easy.

Unfortunately, I must go discipline myself and fold fold fold.

Ta ta…it’s been real.

 

 

Leave a Reply

