“German Pancake”

What a beautiful October Friday!

It is such a PERFECT day for a knee replacement!

Seriously, my sweet grandmother, whom my family lovingly calls, “Nanny,” is getting her second knee replacement today.  So in honor of her, I bring you a super special recipe.

When I was a little girl, I loved my grandparent’s house.  I remember those childhood days so clearly…

from the way that the bees would fly around their back yard on a hot summer day…

to the way my grandaddy’s barn always smelled like motor oil,…

to the sound of the hardwood creaking as you walked down their hall…

those memories are true treasures.

When my siblings, cousins and I would spend the night, we always looked forward to a special breakfast in the morning.  Even if it was just cereal, it was special because it was at their house.  Quite frequently, Nanny would make something that she called a, “German pancake.”

I’m not really sure why it’s called, “German.”

Maybe the recipe originates from Germany? Who knows. Some people do call it a puffed pancake.  Either way, because I grew up calling it a German pancake, that’s what I am going to call it on the here…mmm k?

This recipe is so simple.  Basic ingredients, basic technique.  The end result is like a big pancake that is puffed on the sides. To a little kid, it is totally impressive and totally delicious.  It is best to use a cast iron skillet, but if you don’t have one a pie dish will work fine.

Back in the day, I would gobble this eggy puffed pancake up. However, back in the day I didn’t know I was allergic to wheat. So recently, when I was making this for my family, I decided to make my own gluten free version.  Much to my surprise, it turned out great!  Was it identical to the delicious original? No; but it definitely worked and satisfied my craving!

I bring you… the gluten free version:

IMG_0417

I bring you…the gluten version:

IMG_0420

Visually, they are quite similar.  Taste and texture and pretty close too.

I like mine with butter and syrup.  My husband prefers his with powdered sugar. We both like them with a side of bacon. Yum.

Behold, the GERMAN pancake:

IMG_0430

Now go and make breakfast for dinner or breakfast for breakfast!

Oh, and take care of your knees too!


 

GERMAN PANCAKE

  •  3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp butter

Preheat the oven to 450 WITH the skillet in the oven.  Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl, excluding the butter; set aside. Once the oven is heated, remove the skillet, put the butter in the skillet and place it back in the oven until melted.   Remove the skillet from the oven and swirl melted butter around, making sure the butter coats the skillet completely.   Pour in the batter.

Bake at 450 for 15 minutes.

Low the temperature to 350 and bake for another 8-10 minutes.

Serve immediately with toppings of your choice!

*Do not open the oven in between temperature changes.  Just turn on the oven light and monitor through the window.  If your oven light is burned out, get a new bulb! Peeking can result in a less-than-puffy pancake. 

 

 

2 thoughts on ““German Pancake”

  1. I’d like to try this … sans iron skillet. So I could use a glass pie dish, maybe? Or a non-stick pan? Should I put it in the oven to ‘warm’ and melt the butter just the same?

Leave a Reply

