Gobble Gobble…

I can’t believe the Holidays are here!  Each year, as my children get older the Holidays become more and more exciting/stressful/fun/memorable/expensive….and I wouldn’t change it for a minute.

This year we are eating Thanksgiving dinner wth my husband’s family, as we alternate every other year with my side of the family.  My mother-in-law generously buys the turkey and I cook it, which is really one of my favorite things to do.  I think she would much rather me do it anyway.  So it’s a win-win for everyone, plus she always does my dishes which is AWESOME.

Why do I love cooking the turkey so much, you ask?

Well, why not?

I mean let’s be honesty, who wouldn’t want their kitchen covered in salmonella, poultry innards and miscellaneous spices that get all over the floor and make your feet feel like you are walking in sand at the beach, when you most certainly are not?!

ME ME, SIGN ME UP!

In all seriousness, I do love making the turkey and it’s because of this:

526282_10100296352793733_893848169_n

I have been using Williams-Sonoma brine for the last couple of years and let me tell you, it is worth every penny.  It’s a dry brine that you rub on the turkey the day before, wrap it in plastic wrap and put in the fridge until you are ready to cook.

The flavor it gives is off the chain good.  If I could stick a wick in the jar and burn it like a candle all year long I would.

But that’s not all…

After I rinse the brine off of the turkey, I do an adapted version of this recipe:  Ina Garten’s turkey breast. The best part is the wine you pour in the bottom of the pain.  There are no words for the aroma.

I also cook my turkey breast-side-down for the first half of the cooking time and then, to get that pretty roasted look, my husband and I, well mostly my husband, flip it breast-side-upNow THAT is a sight…I can pretty much guarantee that I will get burned in the process.

But it’s worth it.

These recipes combined, make the most juicy flavorful turkey that I have had.  I have recommended these recipes to numerous friends and they adore them as well.

Now for a little #TBT (Throw back Thanksgiving 🙂 )

734_541479778333_3875_n

CLEARLY, I was over-the-top excited about my first turkey in 2008.  Is that even me?

Because I’m in the sharing mood, or maybe just because I’m in a typing mood, these are the other recipes I will be making for our Thanksgiving dinner (my mother-in-law is making the rest) and another picture from that precious Thanksgiving Day in 2008.

Thanksgiving Recipes:

Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Stuffing

Dressing/Stuffing

PW French Silk Pie

Salted Caramel Apple Pie (This will be new for me!)

PW Green Beans

Rolls

Sweet Potato Casserole

734_541479873143_8993_n

Oh how things haven’t changed…That platinum blonde brother-in-law of mine is joining the Navy in January, the one in the back that looks like a border patrol agent, well, is a border patrol agent…and my sister-in-law, bless her soul for putting up with her brothers, is a teacher.  Oh and that dude sitting next to me, is my husband. Yes we were married and, yes, he was older than 21, despite his innocent little face.

For fun, comment below or on my Facebook page with your favorite Thanksgiving recipe!  I would love to see what everyone is cooking up!

Many blessing to you and your family this Thanksgiving…may your turkey be tender, your pies be sweet and your children behaved.

Oh, and please OH PLEASE!!!! LET THE BEARS WIN…And the Cowboys…and the Seahawks…Because they are ALL my favorite.

 

Leave a Reply

